Qualification Rules

There are four ways to qualify for the Tournament of Champions in Extemp:

1. TOC Extemp 2016 Elimination Rounds

Any student who advanced to quarterfinals, semifinals or finals in extemporaneous speaking at the 2016 TOC Extemp is automatically qualified for this year’s tournament.

2. State Finals

Students that advance to the final round of the open division of their qualifying state tournament in extemporaneous speaking will automatically qualify for the TOC Extemp. Because many states hold their state tournament after our entry deadline, please note the following rule: “Qualifying state tournaments” are defined as (a) any 2017 state tournament that takes place before April 3rd, 2017; and (b) any 2016 state tournament if your 2017 state tournament takes place after April 3rd, 2017.

All tournament entry fees will be waived for any State Champions in Extemporaneous Speaking. However, in order to waive the fee, verification of the state tournament results must be included with the registration form.

3. Qualifying Tournaments

Please note the change to tournament qualifications. Many tournaments no longer create a “bid” or “leg” for simply making it to elimination rounds. Please see the list below for specific qualification levels for each tournament. Students must earn qualifications at at least two of the following:

Automatic Qualifications

2016 TOC Extemp Elimination Rounds

Quarter-Final Level Bids

Berkeley (CA)

Florida Blue Key (FL)

George Mason University (VA)

Glenbrooks (IL)

Harvard (MA)

NSDA National Tournament 2016

Saint Joseph’s University- Villager (PA)

Sunvitational (FL)

Yale (CT)

Semi-Final Level Bids

CFL National Tournament 2016

Emory University (GA)

James Logan HS (CA)

Stanford University (CA)

St. Mark’s (TX)

Schwan Speech Spectacular (MN)

University of Texas- Austin (TX)

Final Level Bids

Apple Valley HS (MN)

Bradley University (IL)

Cypress Bay (FL)

Dowling (IA)

Isadoore Newman (LA)

Parish Episcopal (TX)

Princeton Classic (NJ)

Winston Churchill (TX)

University of Pennsylvania (PA)

Wake Forest Early Bird (NC)

Top 3 Bids

Arizona State University

California State University – Fullerton

Chanhassen High School (MN)

Columbia University (NY)

Downers Grove South (IL)

Durham Academy (NC)

Lamar Consolidated (TX)

Nova (FL)

Ridge (NJ)

Plano West Senior HS (TX)

Saint Mary’s Hall (TX)

4. Bid Applications

We strongly encourage any student who does not or cannot qualify through one of the above methods to apply through our application process. If your state tournament occurs after the bid entry deadline, we encourage you to note that on your application. The application form can be found on the information page of this website.